Cacao quinoa porridge

I’ve already finished one week of my internship and I’m absolutely loving it, and Melbourne for that matter! I’m currently sitting in a cafe on Chapel St and enjoying an almond milk latte. I was pleasantly surprised to find they served almond milk, a rarity at most cafes.

Coming from the Gold Coast, the weather is quite different down in Melbourne. The city is known to go through ‘four seasons in a day’. As the mornings have been cool, I’ve been looking to porridge to warm me up. The combination of cacao and quinoa is a match made in superfood heaven, plus it’s really yummy!

Chocolate for breakfast!

I love quinoa flakes as they have all the nutritional benefits of regular quinoa without the lengthy cooking time as you cook them just like oats.

Warming breakfast

If there are any leftovers, store in a sealed container in the fridge for two days.

Cacao quinoa porridge

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1 tsp cacao powder
  • 1/3 cup almond milk, add more if too thick
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp shredded coconut
  • 2 strawberries, washed and halved – or fruit of your choice!

Method:

  1. Place quinoa flakes, cacao powder and almond milk in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
  2. Once cooked, place into a bowl and top with almond butter, shredded coconut and strawberries. Enjoy!

Almond milk latte

Here’s the latte I am currently enjoying at Amici Bakery Cafe on Chapel St.

One thought on “Cacao quinoa porridge

  1. Oh I so wish cafes all over would get up with the times and provide the almond milk option. My cafe in Tewantin “Tewantin Deli” make amazing almond lattes. I find it difficult to drink cows milk now. Love the look of the porridge and will try it as we eat porridge every day. Say hi to wonderful Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

